Zambezi Belt Modification

I like to wear a belt bag when raft guiding, so that I always have my throwline on me. At work we’re given NRS Guardian Angel bags to wear, but I also have my own HF Weasel bag that I wear on a Zambezi Belt sometimes.

One thing that I think is important with rafting kit is to try and keep your buoyancy aid as slim as possible, without too much gear in the pockets.  This makes sure that it doesn’t get in the way when getting on top of a flipped raft, or when climbing back in.  For this reason, I now carry my flip line on my belt, rather than stuffed down the front of my BA, or in a pocket. The Zambezi belt is a good bit of kit, but the small pouch does have a habit of coming undone as you move around or swim. Hence today’s modification:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHardly earth shattering, but it does make life a little easier. The clip and strap were taken from an old rucksack belt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAlthough the size of the clip looks like overkill, it actually works much better than a smaller one when you have cold hands.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

